California Vehicle Code Section 23152 – 3rd Offense DUI
Although a third DUI offense is considered a misdemeanor in California, a conviction can still lead to harsh criminal penalties, especially if you have previously been convicted of two DUIs within the last ten years. However, you may avoid spending any time behind bars with the help of an experienced DUI attorney. At Virtuoso Criminal and DUI Lawyers, we are committed to protecting your rights and helping you get your life back on track.
To schedule a free consultation, contact us today at (510) 988-5566 to learn how our team can help you.
How Can I Be Convicted of a Third DUI Offense in California?
DUIs in California have a look-back period of 10 years, meaning if you were convicted of a DUI within the last 10 years of a new charge, you will be likely charged with multiple DUI. As we have mentioned before, if you have two prior DUI convictions within the past ten years, you will be charged with a “third DUI offense,” which is still considered a misdemeanor. According to California Vehicle Code Section 23546, a person will face increased penalties for being convicted of a DUI within 10 years of two separate DUI convictions.
What are the Penalties for Third DUI Offense in California?
A third DUI conviction within the past 10 years can result in the following criminal penalties:
- Informal probation for 3 to 5 years
- A jail sentence between 120 days and one year
- Fines ranging from $2,500 to $3,000
- Driver’s license revocation for three years
- DUI education program enrollment for 30 months
If you have been charged with a third DUI offense in Hayward, CA, call Virtuoso Criminal and DUI Lawyers at (510) 988-5566 or fill out our online contact form today to let us get started on your defense!